Appendix A

Harrogate and District

Minutes of the Nominations Committee for reappointment of Non-Executive Directors held on 22 July 2015 in the Boardroom, Trust HQ, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor, Harrogate District Hospital

| Present     |   |
|-------------|---|
| Members:    | Mrs Sandra Dodson (Chair)<br>Prof. Sue Proctor (Chair – item 3)<br>Ms Pamela Allen, Public Governor<br>Dr Sally Blackburn, Public Governor<br>Mrs Liz Dean, Public Governor<br>Mrs Emma Edgar, Staff Governor<br>Mrs Jane Hedley, Public Governor<br>Mrs Sally Margerison, Staff Governor<br>Mrs Joyce Purkis, Public Governor<br>Rev. Dr Mervyn Willshaw, Public Governor/Deputy Chair of<br>Governors<br>Mrs Fiona Wilson, Staff Governor |
| Ex Officio: | Mrs Colvin, Corporate Affairs and Membership Manager<br>Mr Jonathan Coulter, Deputy Chief Executive/Finance<br>Director<br>Mr Andrew Forsyth, Interim Head of Corporate Affairs   |

Miss Polly McMeekin, Deputy Director of Workforce and Organisational Development Dr Ros Tolcher, Chief Executive

#### 1. Apologies for absence

Mrs Dodson thanked everyone for attending.

Apologies were received from Mr Michael Armitage, Public Governor, Mrs Carol Cheesebrough, Staff Governor, Mrs Sarah Crawshaw, Stakeholder Governor, Cllr John Ennis, Stakeholder Governor, Mrs Jane Hare, Public Governor, Mrs Pat Jones, Public Governor, Mrs Joanna Parker, Stakeholder Governor, Mr Peter Pearson, Public Governor, Mr Andy Robertson, Public Governor, Dr Daniel Scott, Staff Governor,

## 2. Terms of Reference

The Committee made no changes to the existing Terms of Reference, circulated prior to the meeting.

Mrs Dodson left the room at this stage in the meeting and Prof. Proctor took over as Chair.

## 3. Proposed annual reappointment of Sandra Dodson, Chairman

Prof. Proctor referred to Paper 2 which had been circulated prior to the meeting and taken as read.

Rev. Dr Willshaw, Deputy Chair of Council of Governors and Mr Ian Ward, Senior Independent Director had met with Mrs Dodson on 17 June to conduct an annual review and set objectives for the coming year.

The Trust's Constitution states:

16.3.1 Non-Executive Directors will serve a three year period and will not normally exceed a maximum of three terms of office except in exceptional circumstances.

16.3.2 Any terms beyond two terms (six years) should be subject to annual endorsement of the continued appointment by the Council of Governors.

There were no questions and the Nominations Committee agreed to make the recommendation to the Council of Governors on 29 July to endorse the continuation of Mrs Dodson's third term of office for a further twelve months in line with the Trust's Constitution. Rev. Dr Willshaw proposed the recommendation, seconded by Mrs Purkis.

Mrs Dodson returned to the room at this stage in the meeting and took over as Chair.

# 4. Proposed reappointment of Mr Ian Ward, Non-Executive Director

Mrs Dodson referred to Paper 3 which had been circulated prior to the meeting and taken as read.

Mrs Dodson and Rev. Dr Willshaw had met with Mr Ward on 18 May to conduct an annual review and set objectives for the coming year.

Mrs Dodson led a discussion regarding Mr Ward's competency in his role as Non-Executive Director and more recently Senior Independent Director. The Committee reflected how both Non-Executive Directors and Governors grow and develop in their roles, over their terms of office. Rev. Dr Willshaw supported Mrs Dodson's comments and added that Mr Ward was approachable and that he networked well with the Council of Governors in his role as Non-Executive Director.

Mrs Dodson recommended to the Nominations Committee that Mr Ward was reappointed for a second term, subject to the approval of the Council of Governors on 29 July.

The Nominations Committee was in favour of Mrs Dodson's recommendation.

## 5. Any other business

There was no other business.