Kite Awards Winners 2022

The 2022 KITE Awards took place at Solberge Hall in Newby Wiske, Northallerton, with over 130 colleagues attending the evening of fun filled celebrations to recognise colleague achievement.

Below our 2022 winners receiving their awards.

Colleague of the Year


Our winner is Melanie Jackson, who has been a constant source of support and reassurance for her team and who has truly lived the values of the Trust.

Children’s & Community Care

Our winner is Aimee Preston, who has been a huge support to her team, treating everyone with kindness and clarity.

Long Term & Unscheduled Care

Our winner is Georgia Ascough, who has stepped out of her comfort zone over the last year to provide invaluable support to both her team and others.

Planned & Surgical Care winner

Deanna Watson-Sparrow (did not attend)


Our winner is Kieran Glennon, whose cheery attitude lifts the mood of the whole Joinery team.

Team of the Year

Corporate winner

Tissue Viability team (did not attend)

CC: (Joint winners)

Our first winner is the North Yorkshire 0-19 team, who were nominated for their success in motivating staff and improving the Service as a whole.

Our second winner is the Special Care Baby Unit, who were nominated for their commitment to their patients even in difficult circumstances, having suffered extreme staffing pressures, nevertheless maintaining their excellent level of care to premature and sick babies and their families.


Our winner is the Rowan Ward team, who have recently achieved 98% in their Matron Monthly Tendable Audits, which is the highest result to date in their directorate.


Our winner is the Main Theatres and Day Surgery Unit who have transformed their departments into one combined team who help and support each other seamlessly.

HIF: Catering team (Did not attend)

Showing Kindness

Our winner is Sijimol George, who always acts with empathy, respect and dignity.

Equality & Inclusion

Our winner is Charlotte Barker, who is described as an advocate for equality, inclusion and fairness.

Quality of Care

Our winner is the Family Health Assistants, in particular Marie Gibson, Joanne Harrison, Emily Doveton, Claire Mitchell, Alison Locke, Kathy Bowes and Jess Smith, who have all demonstrated true resilience, respect and teamwork.

Innovation, Research and Improvement

Our winner is Rebecca Maree, who has developed the AHP Workforce Dashboard this year, which allows AHP Leads to view their staffing statistics at their fingertips.

Volunteer of the Year 

Lynda Johnson (did not attend)

Overall Colleague of the Year

Our winner is Georgia Ascough, whose unwavering work ethic and commitment is absolutely incredible.

Overall Team of the Year

Our winner is the Main Theatres and DSU team, who have fully embraced change, developed better processes and system and fully committed to making their team as successful as possible.